Trailer of the Day: Rango Super Bowl Spot

A chameleon that aspires to be a swashbuckling hero finds himself in a Western town plagued by bandits and is forced to literally play the role in order to protect it.

I was incredibly ambivalent toward this film until I saw this Super Bowl spot. The insult contest with the Mattie Ross analogue made me laugh and I’m really starting to love the hyper-detailed animation style present in the various anthropomorphized critters. Here’s hoping the film is as enjoyable as this trailer.

, , ,

  1. #1 by rescogitans1 on 03/31/2011 - 4:02 am

    Haha… this does look cute. They did a great job with the chameleon, very detailed and just like some of the ones my brother and I would collect as pets in Kenya. Thanks for sharing!

  2. #2 by Jarrett Shotts on 03/31/2011 - 5:00 am

    I’m pumped to see how Johnny Depp does in this animated picture because I feel like a lot of his strength in acting comes from his non-verbal actions. He’s straight up amazing overall though so I know that there’s a good chance he’s going to be amazing anyways. Overall It’s definitely a film that I want to see, but I think I might wait for the DVD.

  3. #3 by Dan Bos on 04/27/2011 - 8:46 pm

    This looks like a pretty cool movie. I think i’m in Jarett’s camp though, and will probably just wait until it comes out on DVD.

  4. #4 by Rebekah Pierce on 05/02/2011 - 5:46 am

    This movie looks kind of creepy, but I like the way they made it!

  5. #5 by baseballdude915 on 05/02/2011 - 4:37 pm

    I was definitely impressed by this movie, even though it looked a little juvenile at first! – Joe C.

  6. #6 by mdgmuse on 05/02/2011 - 4:37 pm

    Did you hear about the various parents annoyed with the film’s abundant cigarette usage? I heard this was a big deal.

  7. #7 by driveministry on 05/03/2011 - 5:45 am

    Have you checked it out yet? I, too, am intrigued to see how Johnny Depp does as a voice actor… although I don’t know if I’ll see this, I haven’t heard raving reviews about it.

  8. #8 by Brandon Jones on 05/06/2011 - 3:32 pm

    I heard this movie was hilarious. I’m with you, until the superbowl feature I thought this was a horrible idea. I’ll see it one of these days….

Leave a Reply

